Trying to figure out ASDF

Discussion of Common Lisp
psismondi

Trying to figure out ASDF

Post by psismondi » Sat Feb 13, 2010 2:07 pm

I have been learning CL for several months now, loving it, and getting along without asdf or equivalent. I find the asdf documentation (from the asdf project page on commonlisp.net), ahem, horrible. (Most of the other material I have, from e.g. Peter Seibel, Paul Graham, etc. is great, so I don't think I'm a whiner about this. Maybe I am.)

If anyone knows of a good *complete* asdf tutorial point me to it.

I find this passage from what I take to be the official asdf manual quite confusing:
The files are located in the same directory as the file with the system definition. ASDF resolves symbolic links before loading the system definition file and stores its location in the resulting system 3 . This is a good thing because the user can move the system sources without having to edit the system definition.
First, what does "the file with the system definition" mean? Does it mean "the file containing the system definition" or "accompanied by" something or other? "With" is a weird choice of prepositions. And what symbolic links is he talking about? Symbolic links to what? I totally don't get it. And "stores its location" - WTF is "its"? This is a totally appalling mess of a sentence.

I'm sure it will all seem perfectly clear after I have figured it out.

BTW, those are actual questions - not just complaints about the sentence. Help me out if you can.

nuntius

Re: Trying to figure out ASDF

Post by nuntius » Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:03 pm

On a posix system (anything but mswin), you can make symlinks to system1.asd, system2.asd, ... in one central directory (e.g. ~/.sbcl/systems). Then add this directory to asdf:*central-registry*. Due to the way ASDF resolves symlinks, it will look for source files relative to the location of the real system.asd file, not relative to the symlink.

gugamilare

Post by gugamilare » Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:07 pm