mixing dialects?

Discussion of other Lisp dialects (Arc, Clojure, AutoLisp, XLISP, etc.)
subhuman

mixing dialects?

Post by subhuman » Mon Nov 23, 2009 9:39 pm

hi @all,

i am a complete noob concerning lisp, except that from the few pages of documentation i've been reading so far it may well be a rather good choice as language for the idea i'm carrying around with me. the thing is that the resulting application would require some sort of gui - for which purpose i chose gtk+. now all i've found out so far is that the dialect provided by rep provides gtk+ bindings. however, as for various reasons, i would prefer writing the code in common lisp. is it, in general, possible to mix several dialects? and if, how could i achieve it?

i certainly don't ask for a complete solution, but at least some hints to places where i can find a respective documentation and/ or tutorial i would highly appreciate.

many thx in advance
sub

ramarren

Re: mixing dialects?

Post by ramarren » Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:57 pm

Languages in Lisp language family are very different, and it is not usually any easier to mix them than any other language. I do not think it is even useful to try in most circumstances.
subhuman wrote:now all i've found out so far is that the dialect provided by rep provides gtk+ bindings. however, as for various reasons, i would prefer writing the code in common lisp.
I don't understand. There are several GTK+ bindings for Common Lisp, like cells-gtk or cl-gtk2, so if you want to write the code in CL, the just do it. There are not other dialects necessary.

subhuman

Post by subhuman » Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:15 am

seems as if debian isn't much lisp-a-lized, is it? i'll have to install cl-gtk2 manually. anyway, many thx for the links.

ramarren

Post by ramarren » Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:47 am

subhuman wrote:seems as if debian isn't much lisp-a-lized, is it? i'll have to install cl-gtk2 manually. anyway, many thx for the links.