color coding comment in f90-mode using "c" [SOLVED]

Discussion of Emacs Lisp
Efo

color coding comment in f90-mode using "c" [SOLVED]

Post by Efo » Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:32 pm

Hi guys,

I am rather new to lisp, and I hope you will forgive me ignorance.

I have been a emacs user for a while now, and recently I converted a program from f77 to f90.
Here is the problem: if I use fortran-mode, all what is past the 72 columns is commented out, which is ugly to work with. On the other hand, I have a bunch of comments starting with "c" on the first column that were left from the f77 version, and if I use f90-mode they are not displayed as comment, which is also ugly to work with.

If there a way I can tell f90-mode to color-code "comment" all the lines that have a "c" on the first column?

Thanks,

Efo
Last edited by Efo on Wed Apr 14, 2010 5:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ramarren

Re: color coding comment in f90-mode using "c"

Post by ramarren » Tue Apr 13, 2010 1:12 am

As I look at fortran.el, the F77 comment syntax is implemented as hack, as Emacs doesn't really support positional syntax. The correct thing to do would be to replace all old syntax comments with new, with for example M-x query replace<RET>^c<RET>!<RET> . The less correct thing to do is add to .emacs:

Code: Select all

(add-hook f90-mode-hook
          (lambda ()
            (set (make-local-variable 'font-lock-syntactic-keywords)
                 (fortran-font-lock-syntactic-keywords))))
which seems to work, but I don't guarantee anything.

Efo

Post by Efo » Tue Apr 13, 2010 7:35 am

Hi Ramarren,

Thank you for the prompt response.
The first solution seems to be a little cumbersome given the different files and lines of code... but I guess I could do that as I go, even though I am not sure if other people using subversion are going to like that.
I suppose the "^" indicates the first line, I tried it and I get "Replaced 0 occurences"