Average Lisp age?

Whatever is on your mind, whether Lisp related or not.
Jonsul

Average Lisp age?

Post by Jonsul » Fri May 07, 2010 3:11 pm

I think I'm what you'd call a young lisper, I'm 21. I'm not learning lisp for college our anything, but for personal reasons. Long story short, I seem to understand what seems like fringe languages over mainstream ones like C/C++. (Shame the lisp scene isn't bigger then it should be) I think I just think differently then normal people and don't like languages that force me to do things someone else's way. Reason why I won't touch any kind of C any more, learned some in a class and hated it.

So anyways I love lisp a lot! and am interested if there are any other young guys like me out there. Also I'd really like to hear how people were introduced to lisp and why. :D

lithos

Re: Average Lisp age?

Post by lithos » Fri May 07, 2010 5:38 pm

I turned 22 a few days ago :D

I started learning Lisp because some quotes or another said I'd have a near godly revelation in time and would end up a better programmer for it :lol: I had a few interesting sparks where I saw you didn't "need" to do things that have to be done so much they're habit(XML, design patterns, and needing to write SOO much code before you can actually test it) and got to have some fun parts where I got to compare logic.

Then I got bored with it because it's was annoying to use lisp outside of the lisp environment(want to use a GUI sort through abandon-ware and hope you're using the right flavor of lisp, want to use it as your web language you get 'moar' reasons to moan).

Now I'm back because the next project I want to work on will require A LOT of scripting, and I just don't have the patience for lots of scripting.

TheGZeus

Post by TheGZeus » Fri May 07, 2010 6:09 pm

lithos wrote:I turned 22 a few days ago :D