What has Lisp done for you?

Whatever is on your mind, whether Lisp related or not.
Cantheman

What has Lisp done for you?

Post by Cantheman » Thu Mar 31, 2011 12:22 am

Hi all,
Like many others (I guess) my journey in Lisp land began with reading the articles and book of Paul Graham.
I have to agree with him. Programming in Lisp is actually really fun.
I am not really a Lisp programmer yet though , still much to learn but to motivate myself even more I'd like to ask you guys what Lisp has done for you as a programmer.
Are you a better programmer?
Did you do your own project /business in Lisp?
Do you use it at work?

Whatever Lisp had done for you please post it here. It might motivate others than me.

Cheers,
Cantheman

jstoddard

Re: What has Lisp done for you?

Post by jstoddard » Thu Mar 31, 2011 7:37 am

Lisp has reinvigorated my interest in programming. It has caused a "paradigm shift" in the way I look at programming. To get away from fancy terminology and into actual substance:
Are you a better programmer?
Yes, I think so. I don't think my programming style was bad, at least until I started working with PHP, but in my brief experiences with Lisp I've been able to see clearly many things which can be improved in my coding style. I've been exposed to "new" styles, such as functional programming (having mostly worked in C and PHP, certain programming paradigms never came up in a serious way), in a way where I can use them where they're effective and ignore them when I need to.
Did you do your own project /business in Lisp?
I've done a handful of small projects in Lisp, getting a feel for the language. Some I've posted about on this board. I've done some n-body functions, for example, and a very minimalist content management system that powers my website. I'm currently putting together a 2d adventure game as a way to become comfortable with lispbuilder-sdl.
Do you use it at work?