How deep is a list?

Discussion of Common Lisp
Ceenth

How deep is a list?

Post by Ceenth » Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:20 am

Hi everyone :)

I have a little task I'm wondering about. Because I'm suppose to figure out, how deep a list is.
Lets say f.ex a function like:

( ( ) , ( ( ) ( ) ) , ( ( ( ( ) ) ) ) )

And I figure out this list should be like "4" or something.

I've set the function like this:

(defun ld (x)
(if (listp x)
(if (null x)
else (if (ld (car x))
(if (ld (cdr x))
)
)
)

But I don't get this function: ( ( ) , ( ( ) ( ) ) , ( ( ( ( ) ) ) ) ) to work. Yes, I'm a newb in CL.
But hopefully some of you could explain something for me.

Thanks Ceenth

JohnGraham

Re: How deep is a list?

Post by JohnGraham » Wed Nov 17, 2010 8:24 am

Firstly, commas don't get included in lists in Lisp - instead of "( ( ) , ( ( ) ( ) ) , ( ( ( ( ) ) ) ) )" it's "( ( ) ( ( ) ( ) ) ( ( ( ( ) ) ) ) )". Secondly, that is not a function, it's a list. Also, you use "else" in an "if" and use closing parentheses as if you're trying to make Lisp look like C. You probably need to do some reading up on Lisp - the first few chapters of Practical Common Lisp should do you well.

If you're determined to plough on, what I would make a function do is:
  • If the input is an atom, treat it as a "list" of depth 0.
  • Otherwise, the input is a list. Find the depth of the deepest list it contains, and add one to it.

Ceenth

Post by Ceenth » Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:08 am

First of all, thanks for an answer, I'm trying really to figure this out.
I have to deliver this to my teacher at monday.

Ok, so far I've done this:

And then when I try to f.ex type a list like: (ld '( ( ) ( ( ) ( ) ) ( ( ( ( ) ) ) ) )

I get an error message: Stack overflow on value stack. [Condition of type CCL::STACK-OVERFLOW-CONDITION]

So with simple words, what does that mean? Am I near an solution or will there more hours with "head knocking, to the wall"?

Thanks again

ramarren

Post by ramarren » Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:02 am