How to handle large prgrams in LISP

Discussion of Common Lisp
black_hat

How to handle large prgrams in LISP

Post by black_hat » Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:37 am

Hello,

As I am still new to LISP, I am trying to develop a good understanding of LISP programming style. My question is if I have a program with multiple class definitions as well as method definitions, is it typical to place everything in one file or does the code get 'modularized' if you will. I have a current project which is rather large and to make the code more manageable I put the definitions for class1 and it's methods in file1, definitions for class2 and it's methods in file2,...,definitions for class1 and it's methods in file_n. Then in my main program I simply add the lines:

Code: Select all

(load "file1")
(load file_n")
(remainder of code)
Is this acceptable LISP practice or is there a better way? Thanks

ramarren

Re: How to handle large prgrams in LISP

Post by ramarren » Fri Oct 08, 2010 5:30 am

black_hat wrote:LISP
First thing about style, the family of languages is usually called "Lisp", and Common Lisp, which is only one of quite many languages belonging to this family, is most certainly spelled without capitalizing every letter. The "LISP" form is usually considered archaic.

Projects in CL are usually handled with a system definition facility, this days most often ASDF. It is included in most CL implementations. There is a small introduction to creating projects here. You can read ASDF manual for more details, although note that some CL implementations might not yet include the new ASDF 2.0 version.

Also, almost all CL implementation have a native-code compiler, and all have at least some compilation capability, since the standard requires it, which means that usually you would want to compile the files before loading them. ASDF deals with that and recompiling only things that changed automatically.

Paul Donnelly

Post by Paul Donnelly » Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:25 pm