??not sure what to do from this point??
could somebody help?

[ed note: added "

Code: Select all

" tags - nuntius]

nuntius

Re: stuck

Post by nuntius » Sat Aug 28, 2010 9:47 pm

If you're looping over a list, the DOLIST macro is your friend. Also note that (+ 1 sum) calculates a new value but doesn't store it anywhere. Use setf or incf.

burton

Post by burton » Sun Aug 29, 2010 8:27 am

ok, so dolist. it doesn't need anything (stop condition, etc) other than the (lst), right? and it will know when the list ends.
where do i initialize the variable sum?right after the dolist?

(dolist (sum (lst)
(sum 0))
(if (t(oddp lst))
(setq sum (+ 1 sum)
(
)

im not sure..

Duke

Post by Duke » Sun Aug 29, 2010 12:51 pm

Edit: missed a crucial detail. Tsk.
Last edited by Duke on Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"If you want to improve, be content to be thought foolish and stupid." -Epictetus

s-imp

Post by s-imp » Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:25 pm

I'm just a newbie, how is this for a recursive solution:

Code: Select all

(defun odd-count (lst)
  (if (null lst)
       (+ (if (oddp (first lst)) 1 0)
            (odd-count (rest lst)))))
Is there a simpler way to do this recusively?

burton

Post by burton » Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:57 pm

hmmmm, recursively....
pretty elegant!

s-imp

Post by s-imp » Sun Aug 29, 2010 5:47 pm

I heard that recursion was a lispy way of doing things, but there could be a better way. I'm not sure if it comes with a performance cost. Perhaps one of the pros can chime in. I'm still trying to get my head around what tail recursion is.

Duke

Post by Duke » Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:16 pm

s-imp wrote:I heard that recursion was a lispy way of doing things, but there could be a better way. I'm not sure if it comes with a performance cost. Perhaps one of the pros can chime in. I'm still trying to get my head around what tail recursion is.