Decimal-to-Binary Converter

Discussion of Common Lisp
esx_raptor

Decimal-to-Binary Converter

Post by esx_raptor » Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:17 am

Hey guys!

I'm kind of new to LISP and because of this, I have run into the following problem while trying to implement a decimal-to-binary converter:

Code: Select all

(defun bin (x)
   (if (eql x 0)
      (progn
         (bin (round (/ x 2)))
         (mod x 2))))
The problem here is that I don't know how to do some sort of "integer concatenation", thus I only get a single value, like so:

> (bin 5)
Help? :D
Last edited by esx_raptor on Sun Apr 11, 2010 8:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

ramarren

Re: Binary-to-Decimal Function

Post by ramarren » Sun Apr 11, 2010 1:33 am

esx_raptor wrote:I have run into the following problem while trying to implement a binary-to-decimal converter:
Your problem is that you don't know what "integer", "binary" and "decimal" actually mean. Please first learn the difference between an object (in this case, integers) and its representation (in this case, numeral system).

esx_raptor

Re: Binary-to-Decimal Function

Post by esx_raptor » Sun Apr 11, 2010 8:39 am

Ramarren wrote:
esx_raptor wrote:I have run into the following problem while trying to implement a binary-to-decimal converter:
Your problem is that you don't know what "integer", "binary" and "decimal" actually mean. Please first learn the difference between an object (in this case, integers) and its representation (in this case, numeral system).
Excuse me? I'm a C programmer, man, and I'm pretty sure I know what those are.

Trying to solve a problem at 3:00 AM in the morning doesn't help with correct word structuring/question asking either.

I guess I should have simply asked the question: "How To Display Something in LISP to Standard Output? (Terminal?)"

Anyways, here's the C equivalent of what I'm trying to do on LISP:

void dtb(int x) {
   if (x == 0)
      printf(0);
   else {
      dtb(x/2);
      printf("%d", x % 2);
   }
}