Distribution of LISP applications …

Discussion of Common Lisp
omega66

Distribution of LISP applications …

Post by omega66 » Fri Dec 18, 2009 1:29 am

Dear LISP experts,

I’m new at LISP programming (actually, I’m new at any kind of programming … heh …), but somehow I managed to code a simple app that could turn out to be rather useful and in time maybe even profitable. Now, here’s where it gets interesting. What would be the easiest way to turn my LISP app into a 30 day trial version and how to make it a registered version after someone buys the damn thing?

I know it sounds lame, but hey, I’m just starting ;)

For your kind reply I thank you all in advance.

Best regards,

Andrew

nuntius

Re: Distribution of LISP applications …

Post by nuntius » Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:36 am

Ouch. If you're looking for a self-enforcing trialware, you may have some difficulty. One of the commercial vendors *may* have something to address this; but you'll have to ask around. Dan Weinreb's lisp survey has links.

On a meta note, you might try releasing your current (presumably simple and not very useful) version for free now; that should help you advertise, judge the market, etc.

ramarren

Post by ramarren » Sun Dec 20, 2009 2:25 am

To elaborate, the difficulty is that most open source Common Lisp implementations do not really provide a facility to strip out the compiler or disable all the core entry points, which means that while probably the source itself cannot be retrieved from binary code, any limitation you put in place will be relatively easy to override. Commercial ones do, of course, because they are commercial.

If you do not expect any of your customers to be at all familiar with Common Lisp though, you could probably use the same techniques you would use in any other language. I do not know what they are, but you should probably look somewhere not-lisp specific, as this particular distribution mode is not that common in lisp world, I believe.