Anyone using Lisp for web in production?

Discussion of Common Lisp
AlexPaes

Anyone using Lisp for web in production?

Post by AlexPaes » Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:54 am

Hi, does anyone around here been using Common Lisp for developing real web applications?

I've been using PHP for all my web programming but since i started learning Lisp i feel like i could really take advantage of this great language, so i started playing around with hunchentoot, cl-who, clsql and parenscript. But i'm worried about how it would work in a production environment. How well does CL scale in terms of performance, can i have different applications binded to different domains on the same server with a single lisp image or do i need multiple images running, etc... So anyone using CL for serious web work please post your experiences, issues and advices.

Thanks in advance to everyone.
CL-USER> (setf *boss* (make-instance 'smart-person))
NIL
CL-USER>

mike

Re: Anyone using Lisp for web in production?

Post by mike » Wed Jul 09, 2008 1:44 pm

I'm using SBCL for http://streamfocus.com/, a recently launched startup for online project and task management.

We're using some old web libs that work well enough, but if I were to start today, I would go with the ones you mentioned, hunchentoot, cl-who, etc. We do us cl-sql, but only the functions, not the CLOS stuff.

Since we're new, we unfortunately haven't hit scaling problems yet. My informal tests seem pretty good. I've gotten good use out of sbcl's built-in profiling functions, so when I find a page that's slow, I can easily find the offending code and fix it. Usually, it's been the normal high-level stuff like hitting the database too many times. In one case, it was pure code, but optimizing it with vectors and declaring integers fixed it up easily.