lisp program error

Discussion of Common Lisp
haplo

lisp program error

Post by haplo » Sun Oct 26, 2008 2:16 pm

Hello! I'm currently working on a lisp program that should increment a number stored in a list through its digits by 1. I've written a module that recieves the reversed list and a carry flag but it won't even compile, so I can't tell if I'm on the right path or not. Can you please look at the code and tell me where I'm screwing up? I'm a complete noob so it's probably just a syntax error. Thank you very much in advance.

Code: Select all

(DEFUN incr (X N)
	(COND
		((NULL X) 
			(COND
				((= N 1) (1))
				(T ())
			)
		)
		(T 
			(+ (CAR X) 1)
			(COND
				((> (CAR X) 9) (- (CAR X) 10) (CONS ((CAR X) (incr (CDR X) 1))))
				(T (CONS (CAR X) (incr (CDR X) 0)))
			)
		)
	)
)
Oh, and the error I get is:

;; Loading file /home/zephyr/Desktop/PLF/incr.lsp ...
WARNING: DEFUN/DEFMACRO: redefining function INCR in
         /home/zephyr/Desktop/PLF/incr.lsp, was defined in
         /home/zephyr/Desktop/PLF/incr2.lsp
*** - SYSTEM::%EXPAND-FORM: invalid form (1)
The following restarts are available:
SKIP           :R1      skip (DEFUN INCR # ...)
STOP           :R2      stop loading file /home/zephyr/Desktop/PLF/incr.lsp
ABORT          :R3      ABORT
ABORT          :R4      ABORT

Exolon

Re: lisp program error

Post by Exolon » Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:47 pm

Hi, in your code you have:

(CONS ((CAR X) (incr (CDR X) 1)))
CONS takes two arguments, but you've wrapped them up as one (a common mistake when coming from a function(arg1, arg2)-style language, and one I make as well):

(CONS (CAR X) (incr (CDR X) 1))
With that removed I can compile and call the function, but I haven't noticed any effects:

CL-USER> (incr (list 1 2 3) 0)
(1 2 3)
CL-USER> (incr (list 1 2 3) 1)
(1 2 3)
CL-USER> (incr (list 1 2 3) 10)
(1 2 3)
CL-USER> (incr (list 1 2 3 4) 10)
(1 2 3 4)

qbg

Post by qbg » Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:08 pm

First, about the way you are formatting your code: